Pelhrimov, Travel Guide
The beginnings of the town date back to the 13th century and are connected with the Prague Bishop Pelhrim (lat. Pelegrina). The medieval origin of the town is perceptible both in preserved fortifications and two gates. The Jihlava Gate houses the Museum of Records and Curiosities.
In the late 16th century the town bought itself out of serfdom and became a royal town by the privilege of Rudolph II. The decanal Church of St. Bartholomew with the Way of the Cross based on a design by Frantisek Bilek and the Renaissance Church of St. Vitus are the chief religious sights of the town. Also remarkable are some of the burghers’ houses built in the Renaissance style, as well as the unique Cubist houses built after designs by modernist architect Pavel Janak (the Fara House, the Drechsel Villa, etc.)
“Pelhrimov Travel Guide”
Pelhrimov Top Attractions
Historical town square has beautiful houses and a fountain in the middle. You can do some small shopping at the square. Visit the church tower for a scenic view of the town.
- Chateau of the Lords of Ricany. It hosts the Museum of Vysočina (the region name).
- Church of St Bartholomew. A Gothic building founded in the 13th/14th century. The main Baroque altar and beautiful Calvary, designed by Frantisek Bilek, is inside the church.
- St. Vitus Church. Oldest church in Pelhrimov and the former parish church. The vaulting and walls of the church interior show scenes from the life and martyr’s death of St. Vitus, as well as allegories of Faith, Hope and Charity. Nowadays the church is used as an exhibition and concert hall.
- Church of the Holy Cross (Calvary).
- Chapel of the Virgin Dolores.
- Lower (Jihlava) Gatehouse. The 5-storey, 36-metre-high gatehouse was built in the 16th century as part of the fortification system. The Museum of Records and Curiosities resides here, a unique institution of this kind in Central Europe.
- Upper (Rynarec) Gatehouse. Just like the Lower Gatehouse, the Upper Gatehouse was built in the 16th century.
- Fountain with the statue of St. James. First mentioned in 1546, but the current appearance of the fountain dates to 1848. On top of the column stands a statue of St. James, in a pilgrim’s garment, decorated with shells and with a hat.
- Municipal Theatre. The original salt-house from 1707 burned down during a great fire. In 1882 foundations were laid for the town theatre (the National House).
- House of the Srejnar Family (Šrejnarovský dům). The north-western corner of the square is dominated by house No 10, named after the rich merchant Krystof Srejnar. The house was built in 1614 in the Renaissance style. It houses a tourist information center and the Memorial Hall of the Lipský Family.
- Fara House. This house has Baroque facade and a Mansard roof, rebuilt in early 19th century in the Cubist style.
- Drechsel´s Villa. Built in the Cubist style in early 19th century.
- Ruins of St. Anna. A chapel founded in 1699, originally was dedicated to the Transfiguration of Our Lord. After being demolished by the communist regime, only the perimeter walls are left.
See Also: Chech Republic Travel Guide